Direktlänk till inlägg 19 februari 2011

A day in Perth

Av Martina - 19 februari 2011 09:27

Today was just the most ordinary day, going to the library, cruising around and then going back home. Just to make something useful of the day.



To get into Perth from where we live there is a busstop just one road crossing from us, there it is either the 72 or th 75 that you catch. They will take you directly into the main big road near the city center called Adelaide Terrace. (this is the same road where Fenian's, the lovely Irish bar, where we've been at least 10 times!) 


Main goal today was to return some of the books that I lended from the State library (though not this one, this is my new bible and I have to study alot more!!)



This is where I get of the bus, though on the other side of the road thanks to confusing Aussies having some of its colonised rules still. I am still looking the Swedish was so I have been closed to being hit by cars several times!



This is the small sign that did take me quite a long time before I noticed it. It is a very small library but way better content than the much bigger state library.



Unfortunately this weird/cool statue has been hidden behind these fences for the whole time we have been here due to reconstruction of the area. It is by far the coolest statue that I have ever seen in a city, too bad it is kind of out of sight for unexperienced tourists. Behind it is a church which I think is named St. George's church, the only reason I remember is not because I pass there very often but that it is a part of the name of the street where we live!



When you come up from the main street you are met by this cosy little gathering of benches (the loveliest thing about it is that there is always a cooler breeze there and it is mostly in the shadow during the day) I have spent many times sitting on one of these enjoying some book that I could not wait until I got home to read :)



This is actually the back entrance to the building and it is located on the lower ground floor, the air con in there is the best in the world, extremely cooling but not enough to make you start freezing! I admit it sounds a bit serious when it says Law Chamber on the entrance though!

 


To my super luck, (which seems to be following me everywhere) the library closes at 12.00 am on a Saturday and I got there 11.35 approx. So as soon as I got my books out ready to read and study some Editor knowledge the speaker announced 'The library will be closing shortly please make your way to the counter for renewals and any books that you would like to borrow' Of course they did not sound as polite and stupifying as that but something like it. So being kicked out of the library made me go into the center to see if something was going on. This is Murray Street and is one of the two big streets in the city center (Hay street is running parallel with it)



There is always some kind of performance or music entertainment on the streets here, usually there are pretty mediocre or even annoying (like the crazy man that has no talant what so ever, but he keeps coming with his speakers that is absolutely blaring the loudest shit music, haha, remember at the cafe?)

 


Some of the acts I have seen before, and they don't really change, like this guy, ( I think I told you about him, one time when I saw him two really stupid guys came and started imitating his dance moves and as you can see there are plenty of people watching this. I felt really sorry for the guy but he continued anyway.)


  

He is not really the most talented dancer in the world but he makes the whole audience laugh at least ones. He takes random people out in the middle of the square and discreetly makes a fool out of them. So I always stay as far away as I can!!!


  

There were three girls walking around in the most exotic dresses handing out leaflets (I never went near them since I saw 95% of the people taking one throwing it in the bin after quickly skimming it through.



Here is our bank located on Hay Street, where Elsofie works. (Det var har jag och Padraig rakade ga in och Elsofie satt i entren hon sitter faktiskt inte alltid vid entren sa dar hade vi tur ocksa! Men hon jobbade sjalvklart inte idag, men banken var faktiskt oppen, men bara nagra timmar (kan man inte gora sa i Sverige ocksa? Eller ar dem oppna pa lordagar? Kommer inte ihag :P )



IKEA is like the most Swedish thing in the world, except for ABBA, sill and yeah... chicks! But this is very strange you land in Perth Australia and you discover there is this Swedish home and office style shop, but you were born and raised in Sweden and never seen it...

             

But I have to say it makes me proud, and if I ever have a really bad day I usually go in and try to feel some comfort that Sweden will never be as far away as it is geographically to me :) Their spring collection is called Var, som pa svenska, and seeing that word makes me feel special, not that I think that I am the only one that will have the same smirk on my face when seeing it (There's apparently loads of sweeeeedes every where here) but still,  (I showed it to you the other day and they actually have some really nice stuff, and quality leather things!) Proud Swede :)




    

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Martina - 25 mars 2011 04:41

Sa det har gatt ungefar 25 dagar sedan jag skrev nagonting pa denna blogg, nu ar det dags igen kande jag! Har lite halvtrakiga bilder, men som man hort det ar ju tanken som raknas, och jag tankte att dem kanske skulle vara mer intressanta for andra a...

Av Martina - 1 mars 2011 05:22

So this is actually pictures from Saturday afternoon, but I have been (for the first time in a looong while) busy!   Sarah that I met in the Welcome to Perth seminar asked me during the morning if I would like to go out to Fremantle (En stad lite...

Av Martina - 24 februari 2011 10:21

Today was Uni day number one, well at least introduction day for real one… Confusing I know. There was a lot of stands everywhere and you got loads of free things, not very classy things though I manage to get hold of : A bible (will not be us...

Av Martina - 23 februari 2011 10:24

Today I was at my university and attended the seminar "Balancing life and uni". I had to be there at ten so by nine I knew I had to leave the house. To come to my University you have to travel from my house to Wellington bus station to then jump on a...

Av Martina - 21 februari 2011 12:08

Todays mission: Get p's important documents of Hart Migration Services. I knew from looking it up on the Internet that it was supposed to be on Colin street just after Harbour Town. So I set out on a really easy mission, I thought!   But first...

Presentation

Fråga mig

1 besvarad fråga

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
 
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23 24
25
26
27
28
<<<
Februari 2011 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS

Besöksstatistik


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards